Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage

Cool Running homepage
Massachusetts Event Spotlights
Find Events
Find Results
Race Directors

> Printer-friendly page

Summer Sizzler 8K Race #7

Springfield, MA, May 29, 2013

Race Report

by Mike Lescarbeau, Race Director

Race Report:

The Summer Sizzler series returned once again for race #7 on the schedule, the 8K road race through Forest Park and the surrounding communities. Thirty-three runners took the line on under sunny skies and rising humidity. As the bell sounded it would be a pack of three runners leading the field and out onto Trafton Road; GSH’s Carlos Rivera & Paul Fratini, and David Degon. The volunteers waited anxiously for the lead runner to emerge from behind the zoo, and it would be Paul Fratini leading the charge. Paul would go on to win the race in a time of 30:08. The win was Paul’s 1st of the season, boosting his lifetime total to 15.5 wins. Paul moved past Ron Lombardi for 9th place on the career Hall of Fame win list. David Degon would end up in second place in 30:36 followed by Carlos Rivera in 31:12.

A familiar pattern continued in the women’s race with GSH’s Julie Carroll powering to the victory with a time of 34:40. The win was Julie’s 3rd of the season and 11th of her career. Second place belonged to HTC’s Cheryl Cunningham with a time of 34:52. Cheryl’s time was an age 54 record, shaving 14 seconds off the previous record held by Mary Ryczek. Third female was GSH’s Kiana Eaton out of Agawam, running the course in 39:09.

Age group winners in the men’s race were GSH’s Bill Carroll taking the Youth (0-19) division in 36:22, Dave Degon was the Open (2-39) winner, Paul Fratini won the Master (40-49) division, GSH’s Richard Clark was first Senior (50-59) in 34:05, Gerry Kane’s 41:17 earned him first Veteran (60-69) and EORC’s Dan Lynes was first 70+ with a time of 49:34.

Female age group winners were Julie Carroll in the Youth division, Maura Feeney won the Open division in 44:24, Anne Taupier was top Master in 49:25, Cheryl Cunningham was first Senior, and SS’s Vicki Quagliaroli was the first Veteran female in 52:47.

Volunteers for the evening were Brian Goddu, Ed Carroll, Brian McCarthy and Bruce Kurtz. Thanks to all the runners, volunteers and spectators. Hope to see you all next week at the 5K XC race.

Recent Results
Upcoming Events
Training Log
Post a Race
Submit Results


© 2015 Active Network, LLC and/or its affiliates and licensors. All rights reserved.
About Us | Terms of Use | Copyright Policy | Your Privacy Rights | Support
Cool Running Facebook Facebook | Cool Running Twitter Twitter | Newsletter Subscription | News Feed Subscription
Race Directors | Running Events | Race Results | Running Tips | Pace Calculator | Couch to 5K | Running Forum | Running News