Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage

Cool Running homepage
Massachusetts Event Spotlights
Find Events
Find Results
Race Directors

Race directors: Promote your event
Discover how Cool Running can help you.

Add to our calendar
Submit your race to our event calendar.

Submit race results
Add race results to our results section.

Instant Ads
Pay-Per-Click Ads on  
> Printer-friendly page

LaSportiva - USATF NE Mountain series #1

Westminster, MA, May 29, 2007

Wachusett Mountain

by dd

Paul Low (1), Kevin Tilton (4), Rob Smith (18), Jim Pawlicki (6), Dave Dunham (7), Andy McCarron (2), and Jeremy Huckins (12).
Paul Low (1), Kevin Tilton (4), Rob Smith (18), Jim Pawlicki (6), Dave Dunham (7), Andy McCarron (2), and Jeremy Huckins (12).
Wachusett Mountain 05-26-07 15th annual (and 25th running)

CMS lead the way with 65 finishers, including six of the top seven finishers overall and three out of the top four women. Paul Low (CMS) Belchertown, MA took his fifth consecutive victory. He is now tied with Course Record holder Eric Morse for the most wins at Wachusett. Barbara McManus (CMS/LaSportiva) scored a victory taking over four minutes off of her time from 2005. Barbara Robinson (GCS Triad) had the only record setting performance of the day as she became the first woman in the 70+ category with a 47:43.

Other age group results: 00-19 Kathryn Fetteroll (Tri-Valley) took a three minute victory over 2005 circuit champion (F00-19) Haley Heinrich in 38:32. Alex Sauter (Suffield, CT) was the boy’s champion in 32:04. 40-49 Suzy West (CSU) won a close battle over teammate Dorcas Wonsavage taking the win by 15 seconds in 33:04. Dave Dunham (CMS) the 2005 circuit champion (M40-49) took his fourth consecutive masters title at Wachusett in 28:19. 50-59 Lisa Doucett (CSU) ran the 5th fastest time for F50-59 to take the win in 38:45. She was the 2005 circuit champion in the F50-59 category. Charlie Gunn ran the 7th fastest time for M50-59 (30:16), winning by nearly two minutes 60-69 Carrie Parsi (Liberty AC) was the women’s winner in 45:40 which is the third fastest time ever in the F60-69. Sumner Brown (CSU) ran the fifth fastest time (34:17) ever for the M60-69, he still holds the record in the 50-59 with an incredible 28:51 set at age 56. 70+ Frank Hurt (WMM) was the 70+ champion in 45:31, running the fifth fastest time ever for his age group.

Other notes: Dan Wagner (CMS) leads the way with 15 consecutive finishes at Wachusett. Wachusett was run from 1978 to 1986 and in the “modern era” it has been held from 1993 to present. Dan has not missed a race in the modern era and holds a personal best of 33:01. Others who have run at least a dozen are – Jim Maloney (CMS) and Peter Orni (CMS) with 13. Dave Dunham (CMS) and Fred Ross (CSU) have finished 12 times.

LaSportiva USATF NE mountain series notes: Paul Low picked up where he left off last year, when he won the best-five-of-six series with a nearly perfect 499.26 points, taking the victory at Wachusett and thus earning a perfect 100 points. Barbara McManus took her first ever mountain circuit race victory by 28 seconds over circuit veteran Kelli Lusk (CMS). All-time point leader Dave Dunham will be challenged this year by newly minted 40+ runner and CMS teammate Rob Smith. Dunham and Smith finished 2nd and 3rd behind Low in last years series. Dunham has a little more than 4 point lead over Smith. A close battle is also brewing in the women’s 40+ with Suzy West and CSU teammate Dorcas Wonsavage separated by less than one point. Lisa Doucett has picked up where she left off last year, leaving all competitors behind in the F50-59. The men’s 50-59 may have the closest battle, as three of the top five from last year are back and the competition is heated in the early going. Less than 2 points separate first and fifth place.

Complete results are below….

race directors shop for premium running gear my profile


© 2015 Active Network, LLC and/or its affiliates and licensors. All rights reserved.
About Us | Terms of Use | Copyright Policy | Your Privacy Rights | Support
Cool Running Facebook Facebook | Cool Running Twitter Twitter | Newsletter Subscription | News Feed Subscription
Race Directors | Running Events | Race Results | Running Tips | Pace Calculator | Couch to 5K | Running Forum | Running News