Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage

Cool Running homepage
Massachusetts Event Spotlights
Find Events
Find Results
Race Directors

> Printer-friendly page

22nd Annual GSH Summer Sizzler Series 8K

Springfield, MA, June 6, 2001

Results courtesy of the Greater Springfield Harriers.

    Mixture of Youth and Age as Wenninger and Hernandez Take Another Sizzzler

     Finally a picture perfect night for running.  Enough of this rain, its time for a little heat and humidity.
     On the men's side this race was decided when Celio turned up!  From the gun he, Dave, Asif and Heather opened up a gap on the rest of the field that had some of us in the middle wondering whether Pete would allow us to use a bicycle at the next event!  Anyway, Celio took the overall honors as well as being first master home, followed closely by Dave Daggett with 3rd place going to 15 year old Asif Addul-Wadud.
     Heather Wenninger took the women's crown opening up an impressive gap from the start and was never in danger.  Dawn Roberts made her return to the course a good one by taking second place and Betsy Duquette again took the masters honors as well as third place.

 1  29:40  Celio Hernandez      47M GSH
 2  30:23  Dave Daggett         35M ---
 3  31:04  Asif Abdul-Wadud     15M FFTC
 4  31:32  Heather Wenninger    17F GSH
 5  32:57  Herschel Bloome      35M ---
 6  33:20  Brian Gibbons        31M GSH
 7  33:51  Tom Whelan           43M GSH
 8  34:03  Bruce Lamay          40M ---
 9  34:10  Ray Charow           39M ---
10  34:15  Dawn Roberts         29F GSH
11  34:21  Mark DeGrandpre      32M ---
12  34:31  TJ Martin            42M ---
13  34:52  Betsy Duquette       46F GSH
14  35:00  Tim Londo            35M GSH
15  35:31  Colleen Cummings     35F ---
16  35:37  Tom Dwyer            43M GSH
17  36:39  Peter Stasz          54M GSH
18  36:57  Charlie Contant      47M GSH
19  37:42  Euclide Desrochers   39M GSH
20  38:22  Ibtihaj Amatul-Wadud 12F FFTC
21  38:36  Dan McCoy            40M ---
22  38:48  Steve Terrien        47M GSH
23  39:38  Mike Butler          28M ---
24  40:17  Bill Towsley         60M ---
25  41:11  Ed Dwyer             35M GSH
26  46:15  Raymond Wenninger    53M SMAC
27  46:33  Roy Anderson         53M GSH

race directors shop for premium running gear my profile