Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage

Cool Running homepage
Massachusetts Event Spotlights
Find Events
Find Results
Race Directors

> Printer-friendly page

24th Annual Seagull Six Spring Classic

Woods Hole, MA, April 1, 2001

Norton and Clay Are Repeat Victors in Seagull Six

by Courtney Bird

Mike Norton of Waquoit and Lynne Clay of Buzzards Bay topped the Men's and Women's divisions respectively in the 24th Annual Seagull Six Spring Classic held in Woods Hole, MA. Both runners had previously won this race. Norton repeated his 2000 Seagull victory and covered the scenic and hilly 5.74 mile loop in 31:26. He beat runner-up and First Master Ken Gartner of West Falmouth by 30 seconds. Lynne Clay, who also won the women's master division, dominated the field with a time of 37:05, almost four minutes ahead of Falmouth's Ellen Mecray.

Running conditions were less than perfect with glowering skies, a raw northeast wind, spitting snow and temperatures in the upper thirties. Norton and Gartner ran together for the first part of the race, but the Waquoit runner pulled away in the Nobska hills. Following Gartner across the line were Jim Cronin of Nantucket (3rd), Adam Polakowski of West Yarmouth (4th), and Ulandt Kim of East Falmouth (5th). In the women's race, the top five were rounded out by Susan Lowry of Sandwich (3rd and 2nd Women's Master), Kim O'Callagan of Vineyard Haven (4th), and Mary Peabody of Dennis (5th and 3rd Master Woman).

The Seagull Six has been a fixture on the spring racing calendar of Cape Cod since 1978 when the race was nearly won by Lynn Jennings, then a high school senior from Harvard, MA. Hosted by the Falmouth Track Club and sponsored by Falmouth Podiatry and Falmouth Physical Therapy, the race attracted a field of 152 runners this year.

race directors shop for premium running gear my profile