Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage

Cool Running homepage
Community
discussion forumsviewpoint
| > rules | > faq | > e-mail to a friend | moderator: Liam

breathing in the cold air

Post a new topic    
> next newest topic | > next oldest topic
Author Topic:   breathing in the cold air
Pokey
Cool Runner
posted Dec-05-2007 08:02 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Pokey     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Hi,

This is my first year that I am seriously training in cold weather.

I notice that when I'm working hard outside and especially at races, (in other words, when I'm really sucking air) my lungs hurt afterwards, and I do a lot of coughing. This lasts anywhere from a few hours to almost all day after the exercise.

I'm wondering if this is in any way causing damage? Is this something I will get used to? I did breathe through some fleec-y material to warm up my breath the last time, and wearing something around my throat helps a little; but nothing helps when it is particularly cold and damp.

Does this happen to anyone else? Will it go away in time?

Thanks!

IP: Logged

bigapplepie
Cool Runner
posted Dec-05-2007 08:43 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for bigapplepie     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
You may want to get checked out by a doctor. You may have this.

You should probably run with a muffler or scarf around your mouth.

figbash
Cool Runner
posted Dec-05-2007 08:48 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for figbash   Click Here to Email figbash     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote