Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage Click for more info
Community
discussion forumsviewpoint
> search | > rules | > faq | > e-mail to a friend | moderator: prefontaine, scorch99

Average High School Track Mile (1600)?

Post a new topic    
> next newest topic | > next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Average High School Track Mile (1600)?
momadaboo
posted Sep-26-2005 10:35 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for momadaboo     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Hey guys. I've been in track the past 2 years and I'm in my first year of XC. This year in track I'm hoping to do a sub 5 minute mile (1600). It is my main goal for the year (I'm a Junior this year). Last year I only ran 400s and 800s but this year I'd like to be doing miles. I can do a 400 in right around 60 secs. so I'm not dirt slow but I have by no means "born speed". This year however I am building up my edurance with XC and I will be training harder. I'm just curious as to what the average times are in the mile? I'm talking about the people that are finishing in the middle of the race? Thanks. Also any advice on going sub 5 would be greatly appreciated.

IP: Logged

captainwildcat
Cool Runner
posted Sep-27-2005 01:36 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for captainwildcat   Click Here to Email captainwildcat     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Don't know what 'average' is, but in HS I never broke 60 sec for the 400, but ran 4:42 for the mile(1600). Since you are doing XC now tou'll be getting a bigger endurance base, just keep that mileage up over the winter off-season and you should be in a position to go sub 5-min this coming spring

------------------
My Profile