Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage

Cool Running homepage
Community
discussion forumsviewpoint
| > rules | > faq | > e-mail to a friend | moderator: NoRacer

Treadmill running = knee problem?

Post a new topic    
> next newest topic | > next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Treadmill running = knee problem?
Rushfan
Cool Runner
posted Jun-14-2007 03:54 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Rushfan   Click Here to Email Rushfan     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
First a little background. I've been running for almost 9 years. Bunches of 5Ks, some 10Ks and even 2 marathons. Back in January I experienced some lower back pain that would not subside so I went to a PT. She had me do a number of back stretching/strengthening exercises. Among these were a couple of variety of lunges. As my back improved I decided to finish PT.

This is where it gets ponderous. I began to have trouble with my left knee. I think because of the back exercises. Pain behind the knee cap kind of thing. So, being the kind of person that I am I went to an Orthopaedic Doc. He convinced me (initially) that I should consider giving up running and that I had a case of chrondolmacia (arthritic condition).

Well - I've had difficulty with not running so for the last couple of months I've just been running easy on the treadmill for about 4 miles per session. I was still having some discomfort especially going up and down stairs however so I resorted to ice and ibuprofen.