Find this page online at

Summer Sizzler 5K Race #20-Season Finale

Springfield, MA, August 28, 2013

Race Report

by Mike Lescarbeau, Race Director

Race Report:

It’s hard to believe that tonight was the 20th and final race of the Summer Sizzler Series. We concluded the 34th season with the 5000 meter cross country race. Twenty-five runners would toe the line on this fine evening for running. After some final instructions from the race director, Julia Lescarbeau was awarded the honor of ringing the opening bell to send the filed on their way.

Leading the field down the opening straight and towards the trails was Dan “front-runner” McNair followed closely by Frank Roberts and Simon Wanjigi. Newcomers Don and Heidi Tauer were also pushing the pace, trying to make a name for themselves on the fabled Sizzler 5K course. Once the field entered the trails it the volunteers were left to speculate on who would come out on top. After navigating his way through the muddy trails it would be Simon Wanjigi first up the finishing hill, breaking the tape in 19:58 for his first career Sizzler victory. With the win his name will forever be etched in the Summer Sizzler hall of fame win list. GSH’s Frank Roberts would take second place in 21:50 followed by GSH veteran Richard Clark in 23:51. Male age group winners for the evening were Simon Wanjigi in the Youth (0-19) division, Frank Roberts won the Open (20-39) division, SMAC’s Troy Montague was first Master (40-49) in 34:23, Richard Clark was first Senior (50-59) and GSH’s Seth Roberts was the first Veteran (60-69) in 24:29.

It was a heated battle in the women’s race for a podium finish, and once again it would be GSH’s Julie Carroll coming out on top. Julie completed the course in 26:03, earning her 11th victory of the season and 19th of her career. The 19th win moved Julie into a tie with Meaghan Matthews-Hegarty for 8th place on the all-time win list. GSH’s Kathy McCarthy earned second place with a time of 26:21 followed by GSH’s Kiana Eaton in 27:07. Female age group winners were Julie in the Youth division, Maura Feeney was first Open female in 31:39, Anne Taupier was first Master in 31:18 and Kathy won the Senior division.

Volunteers for the evening were Ed Carroll, Brian Goddu, Brian McCarthy, Bruce Kurtz and Julie Lescarbeau. Immediately following the race about 15 people met up for some post-run pizza at the Red Rose. Good times were had by all. I would like to thank everyone who dedicated their time and efforts to making this a successful season. I hope everyone enjoyed the races and will return next year for our 35th season in Forest Park.